Each user can customise the configuration of internal messaging.
Note: Site administrators can decide not to use the messaging system or the list of connected users. Anyway, if an option is disabled globally for the whole site (by an administrator), editors cannot have access to it.
- Do not use internal messaging
If internal messaging is available for the whole site (option reserved for administrators), each user can take an individual decision not to use it (That is, he simply does not wish to exchange messages with other users through this system).
- Do not use the list of connected users
When this feature is available (by the administrators choice), and while he is using internal messaging, an editor can take an individual decision not to participate to the list of connected users.
This feature continuously displays the list of connected users in real time, which makes it easy for users to take part in quick discussions. Some users may find this feature intrusive and/or may not wish to be «disturbed» when they connect. They just have to disable this option: they will not appear on the list of connected editors anymore, and this list will no longer show on their pages.
Note: When an administrator indicates that he does not wish to appear on the list of connected editors, the list still shows: he «sees» the others, but the others do not «see» him.