Article status

The article status concerns its editorial situation in the site. the article can take the following states:
-  editing in progress;
-  submitted for evaluation;
-  published online;
-  to the dustbin;
-  rejected.

These states, that only the administrators can modify, enable the site management.

P.S. the article’s status is symbolised by coloured bullets.

editing in progress

When it is created, an article is of course considered as being in progress: its authors are in the process of writing it or modifying it ...

When editing is in progress, the article appears only to its authors and to the administrators. The other site editors do not have access to it.

Submitted for evaluation

When the author considers that his article is ready, he "submits" it to the other participants, so that it could possibly be discussed collectively, before being validated (published online) or rejected.

When the article is "submitted for evaluation", it appears in the "Launch pad" page of all the users of the private area, who are requested to join in its discussion through the internal discussion forum located below the article.

Such an article is then visible to all editors. On the other hand, it can only be modified by its author or an administrator.

Published online

After being possibly discussed by the editors (during the submission stage), an article could be "validated", that is, published online by an administrator. With this action, it is then made available to all the visitors of the public site.

Once an article has been published online, only administrators can modify it. Its author- unless also an administrator - can no longer modify it, but has to go through an administrator to make any corrections.

Rejected

A "submitted" article, which does not conform to the editorial line of the site, can be "rejected" if the administrators refuse to publish it online.

A "rejected" article becomes visible only to its author and to the administrators.

However, a "rejected" article cannot be modified by its author any more, hence stopping him from re-submitting it for publication. In the case of an article requiring modification, it is then advised to re-place the article in the "editing in progress" status instead of just "rejecting" it, in order for its author to be able to modify it and re-submit it later.

To the dustbin

An article can be sent «to the dustbin» only by an administrator.

An article sent "to the dustbin" is not visible any more in the private area, even for the administrators. Be careful then, this option is "radical": the article disappears completely.

In fact, the article is still saved in the database, but becomes extremely difficult to reach with the tools provided by SPIP.

Therefore, this option is reserved to articles created by mistake, and destined to be totally removed. Often then, it is advised to choose the "rejected" option instead because it is less dramatic.

-  Finally, it is worth noting that the administrators can, at any time, modify the status of an article. Hence a published article could well be placed again in "editing" mode. However, once an article is published online, do not overdo these changes of status: you will end up with a site "full of holes", with appearing and disappearing pages, which is very annoying to site visitors.

< Article’s logo | Submitting an article >